Saturday, January 1, 2000

About Me

Hi, everyone!  I'm Katherine (a.k.a., Kat) and I'm chronicling my weight loss here at Low-Fat Kat (and on Twitter at LowFatKat).  My highest weight was around 270lbs at the end of graduate school and my lowest was about 150lbs at the end of high school.  I'm trying to get back in shape the right way through diet and exercise while making lasting lifestyle changes that will help me maintain my weight.

I'm a South Carolina native and a two-time graduate of Clemson University.  I received my BS in Health Sciences in 2006 and minored in Sociology, and in 2008 I received an MA in Professional Communication with an emphasis in Health Communication.  My master's thesis was about the impact of virtual communities on health outcomes.  At the time, I was focusing on health organizations and hospital systems building their own social networks like Facebook or MySpace.  However, I've surprised myself since then by building up my own little community of support through blogging and Twitter, and my community has helped me with weight loss more than anything I've ever tried. 

Oh yeah - I’ve got lots of wicked cool skills, and I’m for hire!!


I got to the middle of Week 6 on the Couch-to-5K program in 2009 before I had to stop due to shin splints, and I’m hoping I’ll be able to run again soon with some lower-leg strength training.  I’ve done yoga in the past and am trying to get back in the habit of doing it as well as regular cardio and strength-training.

I was a lacto-ovo-vegetarian for a year and a half before I started on my current eating plan (low-carb, high-protein), and I’m planning to go back to that when I’ve reached my goal weight.  I’m a huge animal lover, and I don’t like the thought of eating them. 

This “about me” section is a work in progress, so I must apologize for its brevity and lack of imagination for now.  Refer to my weight history if you’d like to read a more in-depth account of my ups and downs over the years.

Thanks for reading!!

No comments:

Post a Comment